Found my Evening Dress!

On 30th June ’12, La Marie Wedding had an off-the rack sale. This boutique is one of the rare places that give brides who are on a tight budget, the chance to wear that dream dress..

Dresses were going for sale at $400 or less, evening dresses for $300 or less, veils, petticoats and all kinds of wedding attire. I’m a big fan of boutiques that help make weddings affordable. I’ve research to death on so manu boutiques and their price range. I’m always so puzzled by how one dress can cost up to $6000!! When it’s possible to find something just as beautiful and elegant in these affordable boutiques.

So with my sis (Bridesmaid 1) with me and BFF (Maid of Honour) standingby on whatsapp from Australia, I went for my first dress fitting! 🙂 My mission was to get an evening dress:
1. Light and cooling since our dinner was outdoor
2. Maybe a light pink/blush coloured, because evening dresses are never white again.
3. Not can-can like, but flowly and romantic.

So here are a few dresses I managed to try on..

Embellished bateau sheath white dress – First dress, super excited. I really liked this dress, spotted out pretty quickly. but on hindsight, BFF was right when she said that it wasnt very flattering. Draping kinda added more volume to my tummy and sleeves made my arms slightly big. 😦 Cost: S$380

Fushia chiffon front-cross dress – I liked the colour. I loved the material. But both sis and BFF said I looked like a bridesmaid. So, big no no. Cost S$200

While I was focusing on an evening dress, I couldn’t help noticing the ‘Scarlet” by Monique Lhullier inspired dress hanging on the rack. It was PERFECT. Full lace, big grand chapel train, mermaid and only cost S$200!! Only thing was, its was 3 sizes too small and made for a much shorter person. Here it is…….


Then sis pulled this other one out, and I thought there was no way I’d wear this for dinner. It went against all the rules of an evening dress. But the moment She helped zipped me up and I looked into the mirror…

I had the ULTIMATE dress moment. (I recommend the moment to all brides!) 🙂 The world stopped for a while, I had an internal gasp, my jaw dropped, this was gorgeous. It was an Ivory fully-beaded bodice princess gown. Sis looked at me and she knew in my eyes, this was the perfect evening dress. Cost: S$380 

Melodrama aside though, I really loved the dress. It fit me (a little tight though, motivation!!) it had the most beautiful vintage lace lining the bottom, the intricate beading on the top and most importantly it made me feel beautiful. Even though it was ANOTHER white dress, BFF said that my wedding wasn’t traditional and I didn’t need to worry.

Budget: $1000

Morning Church – White Mermaid Full Lace
Evening Dinner – Ivory Princess gown – $380

Which other bride would wear 2 wedding dresses on her big day? I think I made the perfect choice. What do you think?
xoxo,
B

Leave a Reply

