Wedding Trend 2013: Bateau Neckline?

I’ve been browsing (heavily!) through Martha Stewart’s Bridal Market this week. The runways are packed full of the Spring 2013 collections from all the designers. Good places to start ‘inspiration shopping’!

I’m not usually a follow-the-trend kind of person, I always find comfort in going back to retro/traditional styles. Something that will stand the test of time. But coincidentally, 2013 trends seem to be heading in my favour! Check out all the bateau necklines this season!

Wiki definition: “A boat neck, also called a bateau neck or Sabrina neckline, is a wide neckline that runs horizontally, front and back, almost to the shoulder points, across the collarbone. It is traditionally used in nautically inspired sweaters and knitwear, but is also featured in more elegant cocktail dresses and eveningwear. The style derives from sailors’ blouses or sweaters, often with wide navy and white horizontal stripes. 

I’m super happy I chose my bateau (regardless if it was the next trend or not!). The bustier is too common for me, I wanted something different and after trying on this beautiful neckline, I was sold.

Funny thing is – Singapore Bridal Houses don’t have that many options when it comes to necklines… Sure we see many different types of skirt shapes. Ball gown, A Line, Trumpet, sheath and they all seem to come with the bustier neckline! Maybe the majority of people here still like the bustier, after all it is the most flattering on most body types. I’m lucky enough to be getting a dress made to measure for my body type and designed to my liking at Silhouette Atelier.

I’ll write a more depth review of the place after my first fitting in December for you ladies thinking of signing with them.

Also I had a question from a SG bride, thought I should share it with everyone!

Question : Love your site! Gonna bookmark it. I’m planning for my wedding in late 2013 in Sg, and it seems like we’re both keen on making it a DIY event! But like you, I’ve fallen somewhat in love with the Silhouette’s dress that comes with a hefty tag. :/ Do you think it’s worth it – if I don’t want the flowers / suit … :/

– J

My Reply:

Hi J! Thanks for dropping a comment. Nice to know that there are more SG brides doing the DIY wedding.

About the pricey dresses at Silhouette, it really depends on you and the decision you are most comfortable with. It sounds clichéd but the truth is, you answer to yourself when after the wedding you either regret not getting the dress of your dreams or not having enough money for the banquet you wanted. 3K is a lot for 1 dress you are barely going to wear for 6 hours, but how important is the dress to you?

To me, the dress was NO compromise. I was willing to give up on flowers, get the cheapest buffet spread, buy cheapo budget wedding bands because I knew those weren’t as important to me as getting my dream dress, I have dreamt of it since I was 6! So that’s how I decided to go with Silhouette – even with the price, I was assured that the workmanship would first class!

So think about it, I know this is a concrete answer but its your wedding dream dress.. I say follow your heart, spend on what you know you won’t regret spending on, like an awesome photographer or the dress of your dreams :) Good luck!

xoxo,

B

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

