DIY Wedding Make up

Long hiatus but I’m back. Work’s been a little complicated recently so I had to focus my time there.

137 days to go!

Anyway, now that I’ve decided to go into full swing into wedding prep, I decided to use my sephora vouchers to good use and get some good stuff for the actual day. Now this is no make up blog but since I am doing my own make up, I thought i should just let everyone in on the make-up I’m going to use, review it and rate it. Maybe it will help another bride who is thinking of doing her own make up to decide on what to use too. 🙂


Foundation – I will be using Revlon Colourstay Liquid in Sand Beige
I love this foundation. Best you can get for a drugstore brand. It stays on the whole day without budging (even after an hour at the gym!) and dries matte but not too dry that makes your skin look flat. In fact, I think it makes my skin slightly glowy! Its a medium to full coverage formula and very buildable. When paired with powder it stays even longer and looks really flawless. All perfect points for a bride who needs to look good without any touch ups. It has a chemically scent and the bottle isn’t very user friendly but who cares? I got it at Watsons during their 25% of everything sale, so for the price of $23 [orginally SGD$30.25] I think its worth it.


Concealer – I will be using Smashbox High definition liquid concealer in Fair
This is a new product to me. I just got it 2 days ago from my spree at Sephora with vouchers from awesome colleagues. It was between this, makeup forever and amazing cosmetics concealer. I chose this purely because it was the cheapest of the lot. I’ve been using it and I like the results so far. It’s long staying and I only need a little to give me sufficient coverage. $32 @ Sephora


Powder – I will be using Kryolan’s Transluscent Powder
Got used to working with this during Make up school at Cosmoprof. If its good enough for the stage, it’s good enough for me.


Eyebrow/liner pencil – I will be using Kryolan’s Brown and Black Liner
I like this pencil cos it’s soft and blendable. Most of the time I use this as a smokey base instead of an actual liner!


Eye Shadow – I will be using Coastal Scents 88 Palette
I know there are proabably better brands out there like Urban Decay’s Naked Paletter or Too Face but I’ll be honest, I’m strapped for cash and the 88 palette does the job perfectly in my opinion. They have great colours and I’ve been practising with the shades I love!


Mascara – I will be using Maybelline’s Falsies
I love maybellin’s extreme volume collection. They really work like a charm. They are one of the most sort after brands in the drug store series. So because I’m going the also apply false lashes, I need something that can hold the lashes and not fall flat during the day. This definately does that! Only $19 at Watsons


False lashes – I will be using Ardell’s individual lashes with Duo glue
I’m going to use individual lashes for both morning and evening. I know it’s not common especially here in SG where most brides where strip lashes but strangely strip lashes are more difficult for me to put on! So I’m practise with indivi duals and so far, I really like the wide eyed look it gives! Looks a lot more natural too.


Highlighter/Contour – I will be using Kryolan’s highlighter and contour
I already have this in my make up bag so I’m gonna use it!


Blush – I will be using Bobbi Brown’s Desert Rose
Not too bright or red, This gives a very natural rosy blush.

Lip – UNDECIDED! (any suggestions??)

For fun, I thought I’d write down a blue print of all the steps I have to do.. In case I get the pre-wedding jitters and (quite unlikely!) completely forget my make up routine..

1. My beauty Diary Mask [1/2 hour before]
2. SK II Serum
3. Primer [Laura Mercier]
4. Foundation w foundation brush and sponge
5. Concelaer under eye / Blemish correcting
6. Cheek Tint
7. Translucent powder all over
8. Eyebrow with pencil and powder
9. Pearl eyeshadow base
10. Brown eye shadow
11. Liner and curl lashes
12. Mascara
13. Contour cheek, forhead, nose
14. highlight cheekbone, cupids bow and forehead
15. Blush
16. Individual false eyelashes
17. black liquid liner
18. Lips
19. CHECK EVERYTHING!
20. Setting mist.

All this in 1.5 hours!  I’ve been doing practise sessions on the weekend so I’m confident it will all turn out right!
xoxo,
B

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “DIY Wedding Make up

  1. Must Have Boxes says:

    I’m sure your look will turn out beautiful 🙂

    – KW
    musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

