DIY Tutorial: Cupcake Stand

130 days to go!

Super overdue.. but here is my simple tutorial on my very DIY cupcake stand.

First of all, let me tell you how ‘DIY’ this whole thing is. Cake bases very cardboard ones I bought from a nameless store in Bedok Interchange that sells EVERYTHING -from kettles to curtains, brooms to cake moulds. They vary in price but all four bases cost below $15. I cut out circles from black vanguard and for the stands in between the circles, I used earbud boxes. Yes, you heard me. Earbud boxes. $2 each from Daiso. So not only do I have clear sturdy stand, I also have enough earbuds to last me the next 3 years.

Cost: 3 x earbud containers ($6) + $15 for cake bases =  $21

There are many brilliant tutorials online that teach you how to make your own. Check out this page for a great compilation!

cake1 cake2

Steps:

1. Gather materials! You’ll need cake bases as tiers (depending on how many tiers you want), solid colour or patterned papers and stands from the in-between. Glue guns and scissors too!

2. Start by preparing each bases, cut and glue the paper and let dry.

3. Then measure to find where the middle spot is. Glue gun the bottom to the bases ensuring its in the middle for good balance.

4. Decorate as you deem fit!

What do you think? Let me know.. 🙂 Finalising the design for the invites now.

Tagged , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “DIY Tutorial: Cupcake Stand

  1. auburnskull says:

    Love it!!!! I’ll do it for sure

  2. […] going be boutonnières though..) 6. Coffee Filter Flowers 7. Glitter Wedding Shoes 8. Cupcake Tier Stand 9. Personal Hangers 10. Self Designed Invites on Photoshop 11. Cupcake Sign […]

  3. . says:

    wow!! this is so cool!!!!!!!

  4. janice says:

    This is awesome! Thanks for sharing.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

