Invitation Card update

I just spent the weekend trying to write all our recipients names in my best calligraphy hand writing as best as I possibly can. But that wasn’t the biggest challenge M and I faced.

Image

ImageImageImage

We asked each other, our parents, uncles and aunties and friends about how we should address everyone on our envelopes.

Mr and Mrs XXX? or Uncle XXX and Aunty XXX?
Mr XXX and Family? or Mr XXX, Mrs XXX, Kid 1 and Kid 2?

How about our grand parents? Ah Kong and Ah ma?
Or by their formal names even though they probably don’t even know how to read the invite?

It was a little of a headache which was inevitable but it helps to have everyone on the same page. M and I wanted something informal and close. We agreed to write the names of our elders as we called them. So if I called my grand mother “Ah Ma” we would write that down in the invite.

Tip: Have a chat with your parents as well as in-laws. Although its your wedding, and you make all the decisions, you don’t wanna anger anyone over a informal invite. I was just lucky to have very open and mordern parents. 

Oh! By the way.. I have some excess envelopes, maybe about 20 – 30 envelopes? Was wondering if any of you wanted to buy them off me? Let me know. 🙂

Next came how to actually word our invitation card.. to include parents name or not? I didn’t want to.. but M’s parents wanted it.. so we went ahead and included it anyway. It wasn’t too significant to me whether or not the names were in… Since we included his, we’re going to include mine too. This is the full text for the invite (note that my parents are divorced which is why they are named seperately) :

XXX and XXX

together with their parents,
Mr and Mrs XXX Tan & Mr. SSS and Ms SSS
request the honour of,
______________________________________________
to witness as we join our lives in the
Sacrament of Holy Matrimony

12pm / Saturday 15 June 2013
Church of Our Lady of Perpetual Succour
31 Siglap Hill

Followed by Lunch Reception

RSVP by 15 May
xxxxxxxx or xxxxxx

And below is the full text for the night. Note that our parents names are not mentioned because we are married already and wanted to say that we were throwing this party, not our parents. It is in no way disrespecting them. Also since its an outdoor event, we wanted to state very clearly to our guest that it was going to be hot so they shouldn’t come in full suites or gowns.

XXX and XXX

joyously invite,
______________________________________________
to an outdoor dinner reception
as we celebrate our marriage

7pm / Saturday 15th June 2013
Republic of Singapore Yacht Club
52 West Coast Ferry Road
Singapore 456086

Come Dressed In Your Most Comfortable Best!

RSVP by 15 May
xxxxxxxx or xxxxxx

I’m aiming for full printing to be finished by mid april and full delivery to be done by 1st May. Which is giving me a mini heart attack everytime I look at the calendar. We’re less than 3 months away and I’m getting super anxious.

Meanwhile, I’m still going for my facials with Trueshape from Groupon and regularly doing my own body scrub with mashed papaya and salt. Yes, papaya is known for skin whitening.

Till my next post!

xoxo,
B

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

